My turn!

Okay, now it is my turn to facilitate our class discussion forum.
While I have experience facilitating in person, I have never Vintage+woman+office+type+writeractually attempted an academic conversation online. So I began where I usually do when I want to learn something new: Google. And as usual, a quick online search turned up some valuable advice.

In particular, a blog post on “How to Facilitate Robust Online discussions,” proved to be most helpful. Debbie Morrison notes, “The role of the moderator is to promote thinking, challenge learners to think, consider a problem or situation from alternative viewpoints and to develop new knowledge through thinking and constructing.” Check her blog out for more information on how to set goals for the discussion, ask the right questions, and promote controversial discussion.

Leave a Reply

